I cannot build .4 in knoppix.

For all the help you need with Armagetron!
Post Reply
User avatar
compguygene
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2342
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:09 pm
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

I cannot build .4 in knoppix.

Post by compguygene »

I am trying out knoppix and am trying to build a current trunk client in the Knoppix 7.2 environment. As a point of reference, Knoppix is Debian based, with a bunch of custom scripts. I have installed the needed libraries, as confirmed by a ./configure command with no arguements, as I am building a game client. I get the following error when I execute a make command.

Code: Select all

ResourceManager.o -MD -MP -MF resource/.deps/libtools_a-tResourceManager.Tpo -c -o resource/libtools_a-tResourceManager.o `test -f 'resource/tResourceManager.cpp' || echo './'`resource/tResourceManager.cpp
In file included from /usr/include/boost/thread/pthread/mutex.hpp:14:0,
                 from /usr/include/boost/thread/mutex.hpp:16,
                 from ./tools/tMutex.h:36,
                 from ./tools/tSafePTR.h:39,
                 from ./tools/tArray.h:34,
                 from ./tools/tList.h:31,
                 from ./tools/tConfiguration.h:31,
                 from resource/tResourceManager.cpp:40:
/usr/include/boost/thread/xtime.hpp:23:5: error: expected identifier before numeric constant
/usr/include/boost/thread/xtime.hpp:23:5: error: expected ‘}’ before numeric constant
/usr/include/boost/thread/xtime.hpp:23:5: error: expected unqualified-id before numeric constant
/usr/include/boost/thread/xtime.hpp:46:14: error: expected type-specifier before ‘system_time’
In file included from /usr/include/boost/thread/pthread/mutex.hpp:14:0,
                 from /usr/include/boost/thread/mutex.hpp:16,
                 from ./tools/tMutex.h:36,
                 from ./tools/tSafePTR.h:39,
                 from ./tools/tArray.h:34,
                 from ./tools/tList.h:31,
                 from ./tools/tConfiguration.h:31,
                 from resource/tResourceManager.cpp:40:
/usr/include/boost/thread/xtime.hpp: In function ‘int xtime_get(xtime*, int)’:
/usr/include/boost/thread/xtime.hpp:73:40: error: ‘get_system_time’ was not declared in this scope
/usr/include/boost/thread/xtime.hpp:73:40: note: suggested alternative:
In file included from /usr/include/boost/thread/locks.hpp:12:0,
                 from /usr/include/boost/thread/pthread/recursive_mutex.hpp:12,
                 from /usr/include/boost/thread/recursive_mutex.hpp:16,
                 from ./tools/tMutex.h:35,
                 from ./tools/tSafePTR.h:39,
                 from ./tools/tArray.h:34,
                 from ./tools/tList.h:31,
                 from ./tools/tConfiguration.h:31,
                 from resource/tResourceManager.cpp:40:
/usr/include/boost/thread/thread_time.hpp:19:24: note:   ‘boost::get_system_time’
In file included from /usr/include/boost/thread/pthread/mutex.hpp:14:0,
                 from /usr/include/boost/thread/mutex.hpp:16,
                 from ./tools/tMutex.h:36,
                 from ./tools/tSafePTR.h:39,
                 from ./tools/tArray.h:34,
                 from ./tools/tList.h:31,
                 from ./tools/tConfiguration.h:31,
                 from resource/tResourceManager.cpp:40:
/usr/include/boost/thread/xtime.hpp: At global scope:
/usr/include/boost/thread/xtime.hpp:88:1: error: expected declaration before ‘}’ token
make[3]: *** [resource/libtools_a-tResourceManager.o] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/knoppix/armagetronad/src'
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/knoppix/armagetronad/src'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/knoppix/armagetronad'
make: *** [all] Error 2
Thank you in advance for any help.
Armagetron: It's a video game that people should just play and enjoy :)
https://bit.ly/2KBGYjvCheck out the simple site about TheServerPharm
User avatar
Z-Man
God & Project Admin
Posts: 11587
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: I cannot build .4 in knoppix.

Post by Z-Man »

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=144593
These guys ran into the same error, it seems. boost::thread and the gcc version you are using are incompatible. They have a solution:
6xx wrote:Just rename all the occurences of TIME_UTC to TIME_UTC_ in the /usr/include/boost/thread/xtime.hpp. This is safe, since both boost definition of TIME_UTC and glibc definition of TIME_UTC are the same (ie. TIME_UTC = 1).
User avatar
compguygene
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2342
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:09 pm
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

Re: I cannot build .4 in knoppix.

Post by compguygene »

Thank you very much. That did the job. Now I can use Knoppix as I wanted to, it covers my needs. Armagetron was the one app left. Funny thing is, Knoppix was invented by a German, as was this game.
Armagetron: It's a video game that people should just play and enjoy :)
https://bit.ly/2KBGYjvCheck out the simple site about TheServerPharm
User avatar
/dev/null
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 819
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:28 pm
Location: Chicago-ish

Re: I cannot build .4 in knoppix.

Post by /dev/null »

Sadly, knoppix is about as mainline as gentoo. If you dont play the debian/redhat game, you're gonna have a bad time. It requires adjusting to thier deviations from the LSB.
Its a bit of pointless work, but entirely doable.

Knoppix has it a bit harder than arch and gentoo, since it has no ability to slot libs, which means your entire sdl subsystem is locked into whatever the devs decide to use. (and its taken them a decade to move to sdl2, and its still in testing) Dont you dare ask for multimon support, its beyond thier ken.
User avatar
Jip
Round Winner
Posts: 397
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 5:32 pm

Re: I cannot build .4 in knoppix.

Post by Jip »

/dev/null wrote:[...] (and its taken them a decade to move to sdl2, and its still in testing) Dont you dare ask for multimon support, its beyond thier ken.
When you are such a pro in all that stuff, why don't you go and help to make it happen?
Also, I am wondering since quite a while. Do you have Tourette syndrome?
User avatar
/dev/null
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 819
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:28 pm
Location: Chicago-ish

Re: I cannot build .4 in knoppix.

Post by /dev/null »

Me and my kind used to help, then the "devs" came back.

Sadly for all of us, they keep trying to reinvent the wheel and be special, instead of fixing issues with the current version.

Thats the difference between devs who play, and devs who dont. If you are old enough you remember before the "devs" returned, and how active tron dev was, now we get this. But sure, blame thier suck on me, I can take it.

The last two versions they made were universally reviled. Thier next one is shaping up to be pretty awful too.

But hey, what do I know, ive only been here for damn near forever.
User avatar
compguygene
Adjust Outside Corner Grinder
Posts: 2342
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:09 pm
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

Re: I cannot build .4 in knoppix.

Post by compguygene »

/dev/null wrote:Sadly, knoppix is about as mainline as gentoo. If you dont play the debian/redhat game, you're gonna have a bad time. It requires adjusting to thier deviations from the LSB.
Its a bit of pointless work, but entirely doable.

Knoppix has it a bit harder than arch and gentoo, since it has no ability to slot libs, which means your entire sdl subsystem is locked into whatever the devs decide to use. (and its taken them a decade to move to sdl2, and its still in testing) Dont you dare ask for multimon support, its beyond thier ken.
I meant to answer this sooner. Knoppix is currently a totally Debian based distro. I am actually now using 7.4 and it is pretty similar in the lib choices to Ubuntu 14.04. Some things are older, to support the custom scripts that make knoppix work. I have found Knoppix fits my needs well because it is so Debian based and friendly to Debian packages. It uses any Debian package manager, apt, aptitude, synaptic, and also gdebi to install debian packages directly. The Knoppix 7.4 DVD comes with the current .2.8 stable release of Armagetron. I was able to install the libraries needed to compile the Trunk Client with some help from aptitude to resolve the dependency errors.
So, nothing like dealing with Gentoo, Slackware, BSD, or other distros.
Armagetron: It's a video game that people should just play and enjoy :)
https://bit.ly/2KBGYjvCheck out the simple site about TheServerPharm
User avatar
/dev/null
Shutout Match Winner
Posts: 819
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:28 pm
Location: Chicago-ish

Re: I cannot build .4 in knoppix.

Post by /dev/null »

Ive got nothing against knoppix, or any distro really, but they all work in different ways and you have to use thier framework or it either goes to hell, or becomes a ******* mess to maintain.
Post Reply